key yoga learnings

In a world increasingly instantaneous, we are are accustomed to immediate feedback, results and reactions. In a world increasingly chaotic, we are continuously assaulted with a barrage of images, please and demands for our attention. The wisdom of the yoga philosophy, however, asks for the opposite: to slow down and look internally for wisdom and guidance.

Yoga asks the question, “What if all of this went quiet?  What would remain in the listening?”

The feedback is immediate; the experience of moving into Divine Silence and listening to the innate Wisdom of the Soul offers powerful and immediate relief.  

Through her writing and her teaching, Lisa Ash Drackert discerns the key teachings of the Yoga Sutras and shares them in a way that is accessible and appealing to the modern student.

She writes, “Yoga teaches that suffering results from the illusory thought that we are alienated from the Divine. As a yoga and meditation teacher, I see students approach yoga who are yearning to leave behind a fragmented, stressed-out, anxious existence and remember their wholeness. They don’t want someone else to Save them. They want to be empowered to approach their suffering with peace of mind, with a healthy body and with an emboldened Spirit. They want to remember what it feels like to be Whole.”  


“Yoga philosophy is a framework for whole and healthy living that is inspired by thousands of years of collective wisdom. This framework is simple and straightforward: practice non-harming of all sentient beings, meditate on the Divine, hold every single breath and every single movement as sacred. Then, you will experience profound relief, peace and wholeness.”

On her blog, Lisa Ash Drackert reflects on key Sanskrit concepts and how they can guide our daily experience of self-care. 

Key Learnings from the Yoga Sutras

Citta:  Heart-Mind Field of Consciousness explained in 

nowhere to go.

Purusha: Pure Inner Light of Awareness explained in

who are you?

Drysa/ Prakriti: Ever-Changing Nature

everything is always changing

Viveka:  Keen Discernment explained in

may the force be with you.

exercise discernment.

Abhyasa: Diligent Focused Practice explained in

you gotta clean your shower.

Vairagya: Non-attachment explained in

how I ended up on a picnic table.

Karma and Samskara: Action and its Imprint  explained in “karma can be a friend” 3 part series:

we had a mouse in our house. (karma part 1)

universal piggy bank. (karma part 2)

it’s like a mirror looking back at you. (karma part 3)

Parinama: Transformation explained in

you are made of gold.

Atha: Now explained in

brain exploding, now.

Ahimsa: Non-harming and compassion explained in

don’t feed the marmots: ahimsa

 Satya: Truthfulness explained in

self-care and self-talk.

integrity and satya: say no to junk mail.

 Aparigraha: Generosity explained in

when assuming doesn’t make an ass out of you (or me)

Brahmacharya: Balanced Lifestyle explained in

balancing self-care: brahmacharya 

yes, please!

Asteya: Non-stealing explained in

i almost stole a dog: asteya

Saucha: Cleanliness and Self-Care explained in

the one minute rule of tidiness.

is eating thi cinnamon roll an act of self-care?