key yoga learnings

In a world increasingly instantaneous, we are are accustomed to immediate feedback, results and reactions. In a world increasingly chaotic, we are continuously assaulted with a barrage of images, pleas and demands for our attention. The wisdom of the yoga philosophy, however, asks for the opposite: it asks us to slow down and look internally for wisdom and guidance.

Yoga asks the question, “What if all of this went quiet?  What would remain in the listening?”

The feedback is immediate; the experience of moving into Divine Silence and listening to the innate Wisdom of the Soul offers powerful and immediate relief.  

Through her writing and her teaching, Lisa Ash Drackert discerns the key teachings of the Yoga Sutras and shares them in a way that is accessible and appealing to the modern student.

She writes, “As a yoga and meditation teacher, I see students approach yoga who are yearning to leave behind a fragmented, stressed-out, anxious existence and remember their wholeness. They want to be empowered to approach their suffering with peace of mind, with a healthy body and with an emboldened Spirit. They want to remember what it feels like to be Whole and Connected.”  


“Yoga philosophy is a framework for whole and healthy living that is inspired by thousands of years of collective wisdom. This framework is simple and straightforward: practice non-harming of all sentient beings, meditate on the Divine, hold every single breath and every single movement as sacred. Then, you will experience profound relief, peace and wholeness.”

On her blog, Lisa Ash Drackert reflects on key Sanskrit concepts and how they guide our daily experience of self-care. 

Key Learnings from the Yoga Sutras

Citta:  Heart-Mind Field of Consciousness explained in 

nowhere to go.

Purusha: Pure Inner Light of Awareness explained in

who are you?

Drysa/ Prakriti: Ever-Changing Nature explained in

everything is always changing

Viveka:  Keen Discernment explained in

may the force be with you.

exercise discernment.

Abhyasa: Diligent Focused Practice explained in

you gotta clean your shower.

Vairagya: Non-attachment explained in

how I ended up on a picnic table.

Karma and Samskara: Action and its Imprint  explained in “karma can be a friend” 3 part series:

we had a mouse in our house. (karma part 1)

universal piggy bank. (karma part 2)

it’s like a mirror looking back at you. (karma part 3)

Parinama: Transformation explained in

you are made of gold.

Atha: Now explained in

brain exploding, now.

Ahimsa: Non-harming and compassion explained in

don’t feed the marmots: ahimsa

collect a reservoir of compassion

write yourself a Positive Review.

remembering not to yell at customer service reps

 Satya: Truthfulness explained in

self-care and self-talk.

integrity and satya: say no to junk mail.

 Aparigraha: Generosity explained in

when assuming doesn’t make an ass out of you (or me)


Brahmacharya: Balanced Lifestyle explained in

balancing self-care: brahmacharya 

yes, please!

Asteya: Non-stealing explained in

i almost stole a dog: asteya

getting clear about what matters.

Saucha: Cleanliness and Self-Care explained in

the one minute rule of tidiness.

is eating this cinnamon roll an act of self-care?

Tapas: Zeal for practice explained in

do it with passion, or not at all: tapas

tapas: not just for happy hour

Santosha: Contentment explained in

the contents of my Soul: santosha

every day a gift: santosha

not needing more: santosha

Svadhyaya: self-study and discovery explained in

the big question of svadhaya

recommended yoga readings for 2018

Pratyahara: Withdrawing the senses inward explained in:

the uphill part is really, really hard

self-care means not pushing through

pratyahara meditation

Yoga Citta Vritti Nirodha: Yoga is the direction of the turnings of the mind inward  explained in:

become a tree hugging yogi

and more to come…